Seed Starting

Last year, I noticed that my seed starting trays – an ABS system from Gardener’s Supply Co – were getting a little ragged around the edges after many years of use.

I may be mistaken, but I couldn’t find it in their catalog last year, so I was really pleased to find them there when I looked.

It’s a nice system that works well for someone (me) who forgets to water seedlings:  the trays have a wicking mat that keeps the soil moist from a bottom water tray. This means, with heat mats under them, I can go a week without watering, allowing me time to pluck extra seedlings since I also tend to  over seed, especially if I am using seeds from last year (or even before…)

BTW, I did inventory my seeds and tossed anything from prior to 2010! As a reward, I ordered myself two new ABS systems and a bag of dirt. Gardeners can be so easy to please!

Leave a comment