Pastabilities

I gave myself a pasta sheeter/cutter for my birthday las month and have been making guinea pigs of my family ever since. I also ordered three books to learn what I was doing. I like to read cookbooks, but they – for me – are best read in small doses. Usually a recipe at a time.

So, tonight I am reading about Heirloom Tomato and Burrata Lasagna in Mastering Pasta by Marc Vetri and wishing I still had some in the garden. The picture of the tomatoes is gorgeous and I’m already eager for the garden catalogs to show up. This won’t happen until after Christmas, but I will be ready to plan next year’s garden.

In the meantime, I have so much else to do:  get my senior’s college application (using the Common Ap – so nice and much easier than when I applied to Skidmore), host Thanksgiving for my husband’s side of the family, have Christmas consume me for the ENTIRE month of December, go to Charleston, SC to see my side of the family for NYE. When I return, my mailbox will be filled with all those catalogs.

Planning the garden, as well as rereading Martha Stewart’s Gardening, will get me through winter. This was one of the first books I ever read on gardening and I am looking forward to it!

Leave a comment