Listening To The Grass Grow

Way back in 1972, while on a class camping trip, a counselor I considered wacky and probably too in tune with the times, chose to spend an evening outside “listening to the grass grow.”

Since that time, I have thought of that phrase to be right in line with “watching paint dry” – kind of like spending the afternoon at a T-ball game when I could be home planting.

Until today! Picture this:

I’m out planting herbs and pansies in pots (so I can bring them in when the frost returns – which it WILL – despite feeling like spring already), when Donny calls me over to “see” something in the bushes/grasses he is cutting back.

Convinced I will be finding a bird’s nest at an unbelievable low level, I don’t hesitate to stick my nose down. At this level, I HEAR, not SEE, the bushes – like the three little Rice Krispie Elves are playing in the garden. Garden Elves – Yes, RK Elves – What?!!

The plants in question are boxwood – ubiquitous landscape balls used all over and perfect for topiary and knot gardens, but not my love, just a great worker bee for me:

They add structure to the two spots we have them:  in front of a bay window, they offer a foundation planting and hold Christmas lights beautifully in December, and framing some Loosestrife (no, not THAT Loosestrife) in a grouping outside the pool fence.

So, now, I LOVE the boxwoods! I am entranced! How have I missed the BW Elves until now? Is it just because the winter has been so mild that we are able to actually be outside when the plants “talk”?

More later….

Leave a Reply

