Cutting Back The Clematises

Yet, again, despite a recurring “task” set up in Outlook, I am behind the ball on cutting back my clematis vines. When I moved the task forward last winter to Feb 4th, I was really proud of myself for picking such an early date compared to previous years. Surely I would not be faced with cutting back new growth – a heartwrenching experience for someone who can’t bear to not find a hole for every volunteer seedling…
But with this season’s unusually warm weather, I fear what I will find when I get to actually completing this “task”. I did not get to it yesterday, as scheduled, due to rain so it may not happen until next weekend. With another week of warmer than usual temperatures predicted, I just know I am late again! Arrgh!

Leave a Reply

