Jun 30 – Identifying Weeds AKA Wild Radish

Two years ago, I decided to let Logan have a bed of his own for some seeds he had dropped and mixed – just to see what would come up from the combination. Included in the grouping were radish seeds I had also planted in with spinach on the theory that the quick to germinate radishes would tell me where the spinach would eventually be and thus, weeding would be simpler…
 
For many reasons, including football and soccer, my garden was a mess that year and we never harvested the radishes in time (they are so quick, you can still be planting and weeding and not thinking of reaping) nor did we pay strict attention to Logan’s plants other than the Basil we all craved.
 
To say we let this mess go to seed is an understatement. Maybe someday I will even get better at seed saving (but, remember, not all seeds reproduce true to their parents – a discussion better suited to winter blogging…) but, I did nothing and let Mother Nature figure it all out.
 
Not that I wish to curse her, and I am still trying to reliably identify the plant, but I now have a very fast growing weed that looks a lot like a radish seedling, including a long RED taproot. It starts out with green leaves that appear purple underneath but, if the same plant, this coloration disappears as it quickly reaches above all competing seedlings. In a week, it has grown from 1-2" to 8-12". I spent a few hours pulling young plants last week from my Mesclun Bed and 1-2 more the past two nights from everywhere else – all in hopes of making sure it never goes to seed again!
 
Now, to give it a postive ID… and, a mugshot…!
 
 
Leave a Reply

