May 27 – Can we Till Yet?!

I have to first say that I love it when my garden is all tilled and the little plants are placed, mulched – neat and cute.
 
I have to say,  secondly, that I hate it when my garden is all tilled and the little plants are placed, mulched – neat and cute.
 
Okay, I am a complicated gardener…
 
Which is why I fell head over heals for a French Potager in a book – symmetrical lines of orderly planning – overspilling with nature’s abandon. Ying and Yang; frick and frack; yada yada yada…
 

I want/(need): 

  • 4×4 raised beds,
  • paths a wheelbarrow wheel can navigate,
  • cottage flowers I can place wherever I will linger (kitchen counter, work desk, poolside dinner table, reading chair)
  • herbs/veggies I can cook while enlightenining my family’s palate
  • pretty things I will enjoy since I know my times in each of these oases will be shorter than desired

AND, the wanton desire that is Mother Nature’s birthtright….

How does this even work? (Ask my husband most summers:  it doesn’t.) 
 
Ahhhh,… but in those beautiuous summers when it does, catch your breath!
 
Okras, ready to eat once a week (enough),
Asparagus, in the early season – still working on that, to be honest, but sharing the few we get, raw, makes us all BELIEVE!
Rhubarb, to make for a lover (of rhubarb), father or son (even if not your real lover) – deliciouso!
Tomatoes, do I really need to explain (not to be a snob, which I am – sorry – but would you even be reading this Blog if one of your first gardening TRUTHs hadn’t been about the tomatoes…
 
And, more – promise, I have tried them all (well, very many, any way) and still keep doing so – no failures!!
 
 
Leave a Reply

