Feb 27th – My French Potager

The first two years of Big Garden, I planted in rows and ran black plastic down the paths between. Because I live on reclaimed farmland, although that was some time ago, I was lucky to not suffer from the horrid clay here that is around the house where the soil has been more disturbed. Soon enough, I saw my plants thriving in ways I had never seen in my childhood garden. But, it was not pretty to look at and was soon an overgrown mess. Winters spent reading all I could find taught me many theories on garden design, from practical organization to functional simplicity and maximum production. Still and all, I finally struck on the French description of a Potager and have never looked back. The tradition dates back to the monasterial apothocary walled gardens and offers much in beauty as well as produce. The book, "The Art of French Vegetable Gardening" was instrumental in my education, which is never quite complete as I learn more every year. 
Leave a Reply

